Squeak Carnwath

Squeak Carnwath is a painter and printmaker who uses text, color field painting, and a wide variety of recognizable symbols to make interesting, engaging, and relatable works. Her works have the intimate feel of a diary, but acknowledge universal themes that are familiar to every viewer. Her paintings work together to form a kind of visual conversation within the spaces that they are displayed. Carnwath utilizes traditional painting techniques such as trompe l’oeil and symbolism, while also making statements that question the viewer’s thoughts and emotions. Carnwath wants the viewer to make connections between words, objects and shapes; connections that often evoke moments of humor and sadness. Carnwath currently lives and works in Oakland, California.

 She has received numerous awards including the Society for the Encouragement of Contemporary Art (SECA) Award from San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, two Individual Artist Fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Award for Individual Artists from the Flintridge Foundation. Carnwath is Professor Emerita at the University of California, Berkeley.

"Supplicant" 1984
"Black Snow Storm" 1985
"New Rule" 1987
"Mineral Light" 1987
"Virtue" 1989
"Animals" 1989
"Math" 1989
"Heaven" 1991
"Message" 1991
"Miracle" 1992
"Pulse" 1994
"What is Blue" 1993
"No More No More" 1996
"What Is Essential" 1997
"Identity" 1990
"A Little Happy" 2001
"Anymore" 2001
"Evaporation" 2004
"Gratitude" 2001
"Gone is Forever" 2001
"Reflection" 2005
"Stolen Borrowed" 2004
"Up Close Far Away" 2000
"Mistake" 2011
"Is Here There" 2012
"here is Here" 2012
"Frank" 2014
"Love" 2014
"Our Reality" 2014
"Loss" 2016
"Unlock Love" 2018
"Dishonest" 2010
"Language is Limited" 2013
"Naturally We" 2005
"Need to Be" 2012
"Reflection" 2005
"My Plaid" 2000
"Gone" 2005
"Puzzle" 1996
"Our Own" 2022
"Quiet" 2019-21
"Thing Among Things" 2019
"Need Want" 2019-2020
"Need Care and Luck" 2019-20
"Need to Be" 2012
"Language is Limited" 2013
"Dishonest" 2010
"Get Off" 2012
"Is Here There" 2012
"Light" 2011
"I Wish" 2011
"Gateway" 2007